Excellence in Digital Libraries Award

Each year, the Texas Digital Library (TDL) Awards honor individuals and groups that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of digital libraries.

The Excellence in Digital Libraries Award honors a specific project that demonstrates overall excellence in one or more areas of digital library practice.


Outstanding contributions may include, but are not limited to:

  • Collaborative work on a digital library project
  • Unique use or development of digital library technology
  • Advancement of digital library standards (e.g., copyright, metadata, preservation)
  • Creation of an innovative digital library collection or workflow for digital library projects


Nominations are open to Texas institutions of higher education, or groups or projects within a Texas institution of higher education, and can be in partnership with other organizations. Self-nominations are accepted.

To nominate a project or individual for TDL’s Excellence in Digital Libraries Award, you will need:

  • Contact information about the project members including name, email, mailing address, and URLs. (required)
  • Your contact information (required)
  • A justification statement of 500 – 1,500 words (required)
  • Supporting documentation file upload (not required)



Winners are selected by the TDL Awards Committee and are notified in early spring. Award recipients receive one complimentary registration per group/awardee for the Texas Conference on Digital Libraries in Austin, and are honored during a special awards session at the conference.

For questions about the criteria or processes for awards selection, please email info@tdl.org.