Scholarly Communications Award

In 2003, the Association for College and Research Libraries (ACRL) defined scholarly communication as “the system through which research and other scholarly writings are created, evaluated for quality, disseminated to the scholarly community, and preserved for future use.”

Scholarly communication leaders increase the visibility and impact of their respective institution’s research, and advance knowledge for the public good. Much is accomplished through open access initiatives. Many efforts involve open source platforms. The Texas Digital Library (TDL) seeks to honor scholarly communications leaders through this award.



Award recipients will have made outstanding contributions that advance the

  • creation,
  • discovery,
  • dissemination, and
  • preservation…

… of  scholarly communication from their respective institutions’ creators.

Outstanding contributions can be manifest within, but are not limited to, these five areas:

  • Promotion of institution-based publishing services (presumably open access)
  • Data management services that improve project efficiency, funder compliance, and open access to data
  • Assessment and impact metrics services that inform the scholar’s strategy for intellectual contributions
  • Copyright services that empower scholars and steer them away from unfavorable license agreements and legal quagmires
  • Promotion and management of institutional repositories

The TDL Awards Committee encourages submissions from historically underrepresented professionals and their allies. Per the TDL Statement of Inclusion this includes but is not limited to “the presence and contributions of all persons regardless of age, culture, abilities, bodies, ethnic origin, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, marital status, nationality, race, religion, or socioeconomic status.”


Each year, the Texas Digital Library (TDL) Awards honor individuals and groups that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of digital libraries.

Nominations are open to individuals or groups from Texas universities, including faculty and librarians, as well as institutions or groups in partnership with Texas academic libraries. Individuals nominated for this award must have been employed by a university at the time the work was created/executed. Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged.

To nominate a project or individual for TDL’s Scholarly Communications Award you will need:

  • Contact information about the nominee or group including name, email, mailing address, and URLs. (required)
  • Your contact information (required)
  • A justification statement of 500 – 1,000 words (required)
  • Supporting documentation file upload (not required, examples include but are not limited to letters of recommendation, workflows, awards received, publicity and publications, etc.)


Winners are selected by the TDL Awards Committee and are notified in early spring. Award recipients receive one complimentary registration per for the Texas Conference on Digital Libraries in Austin, and are honored during a special awards session at the conference.

Winners and nominees will be invited to share their work with the library community through blog posts, webinars, and/or TDL member forums.

For questions about the criteria or processes for awards selection, please email

Nomination deadline is February 25th, 2019.