TDL Awards

Each year, the Texas Digital Library (TDL) Awards honor individuals and groups that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of digital libraries. 

Winners are selected by the TDL Awards Committee and are notified in early spring. Award recipients receive one complimentary registration per group/awardee for the Texas Conference on Digital Libraries in Austin, and are honored during a special awards session at the conference.


The Excellence in Digital Libraries Award honors a specific project that demonstrates overall excellence in one or more areas of digital library practice.

The Graduate Student Excellence Award honors an individual graduate student that demonstrates overall excellence and contributions to digital library practice.

The Innovative Outreach Award honors an individual or team that demonstrates a creative and successful approach to reaching new users and building awareness of an organization’s digital library

The Leadership in Digital Libraries Award honors an individual who has made significant contributions and improvements related to digital libraries.

The Scholarly Communications Award honors the work of an individual or group of academics, including faculty and librarians, who have made significant advances in our understanding of the issues surrounding scholarly communications

The Trailblazer Award honors the work of an individual or group within a Texas academic library who has used limited resources in innovative ways to create, maintain or support digital collections.

Please review the full set of criteria for each award before submitting.


  • Sian Brannon (Chair), University of North Texas
  • Sean Visintainer (Vice-Chair), University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Kris Helge, Texas Woman’s University
  • Jonathan Helmke, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • Derek Reece, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Darryl Stuhr, Baylor University
  • Heidi Winkler, Texas Tech University

Past TDL Award Committee Members

Excellence in Digital Libraries
Project Team: The Black Gospel Music Restoration Project team at Baylor Libraries

TDL Service Award
Ryan Steans, Community Manager at Avalon

Trailblazer Award
Bobby Marlin and the Keiller Drawings project at the Moody Medical Library of the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Innovative Outreach Award
Jessica Trelogan, University of Texas at Austin

Graduate Student Excellence Award
Alicia Niwagaba, University of Texas at Austin